top of page

Csaba Horváth Young Scientist Award

About the Award

The purpose of the Award is to honor the memory of Csaba Horváth and recognize his contributions to HPLC, including his interest in fostering the careers of young people in separation science and engineering. The award includes an invitation to speak at the HPLC 2024 Symposium, a grant to support travel to that meeting, and a trophy engraved with the winner’s name. The award is sponsored by HPLC, Inc. The award will be presented during the Closing Ceremony on Thursday, June 22.

Eligibility Criteria

All presenters of oral contributions (excepting past winners) who are less than 35 years of age at the time of their lecture are eligible for consideration. Candidates will be required to provide evidence of eligibility (e.g., passport, driver’s license).

To Apply

Upon submission of your abstract, please select the box that states, "Would you like to be considered for the Csaba Horváth Award?"



Selection Process

The Scientific Committee selects abstracts for inclusion in the oral program. An Award Jury judges the eligible presentations and chooses a winner. The winner will be announced at the Closing Ceremony.



About Csaba Horváth

Professor Csaba Horváth (1930-2004) was born in Hungary and graduated in chemical engineering from the Budapest Institute of Technology. After receiving his Ph.D. in physical chemistry at the J.W. Goethe University in Frankfurt under the direction of Prof. Halász, he immigrated to the United States in 1963 and started research at the Harvard Medical School. In the following year, Dr. Horváth moved to Yale where he designed and built the first high performance liquid chromatograph to demonstrate the feasibility and potential of HPLC in bioseparation sciences. He chaired the Department of Chemical Engineering at Yale from 1987 to 1993 and was named as Roberto C. Goizueta Professor of Chemical Engineering in 1998. Professor Horváth contributed close to 300 publications to the field of separation sciences and had nine patents. His main topics were all fundamental aspects of separations, including instrumentation, stationary phase designs, and mechanisms of separation processes, as well as their application mainly to biological and biomedical research, especially for the high-resolution separation of proteins and peptides.

Finalists for the Csaba Horvath Young Scientist Award



Past recipients of the Csaba Horváth Young Scientist Award

HPLC 2006 San Francisco,USA - Norma Scully, University of Cork, Ireland
HPLC 2007 Gent, Belgium - Caterina Temporini, University of Pavia, Italy
HPLC 2008 Baltimore, USA - Jude Abia, University of Tennessee, USA
HPLC 2009 Dresden, Germany - André de Villiers, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
HPLC 2010 Boston, USA - Jesse Omamogho, University College Cork, Ireland
HPLC 2011 Budapest, Hungary - Matthias Verstraeten, Free University of Brussels, Belgium
HPLC 2012 Anaheim, USA - Stefan Bruns, Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany
HPLC 2013 Amsterdam, Netherlands - James Grinias, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, USA
HPLC 2014 New Orleans, USA - William Black, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, USA
HPLC 2015 Geneva, Switzerland - Andrea Gargano, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
HPLC 2016 San Francisco, USA - Simone Dimartino, University of Edinburgh, UK
HPLC 2017 Prague, Czech Republic - Bob Pirok, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
HPLC 2018 Washington, DC, USA - Martina Catani, Università degli Studi di Ferrara, Italy

HPLC 2019 Milan, Italy – Sebastian Piendl, University of Leipzig, Germany

HPLC 2022 San Diego, USA – Brady Anderson, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA

bottom of page